The Dreaded Haircut

It’s been two years… I can’t put it off any longer.

My last haircut was a nightmare that resulted in tears and me almost punching someone. I hate getting my hair cut. But, its to my waist, almost all one length and so heavy that there is almost no curl left. I want to look cute on vacation.

I was given a few good recos to Coupe Bizzarre here in Toronto, but after reading the reviews I was very put off. Not so much by the comments about the cuts, but about the service and the too-cool-for school attitude. I am not cool, nor do I play a cool person on TV. I am already nervous about this whole thing so I am not too keen on spending my hair cutting experience with bitches. I made an appointment with them initially, but I will probably cancel it.

I made an appointment for a consult wiht a shop called Fringe and I feel a lot better about them. Especially because I will be seeing the head stylist/owner.  Anyhow, enough about my hair anxiety…time for style talk.

I am going to take the plunge into bangs… I think. And I love long layers. Here are some pics of what I am aiming for.

I used this pic the last time I got a good haircut : )

Love her hair. She has great bangs.

I like the messy layers. (I am aware that this is not her hair.)

Great bangs... and breasts.

I would appreciate any comments or ideas. (If you think I should cut my hair short, save your breath, its not going to happen, ever.)  Also, please, if you have any pics of styles you think I might like I would love to see them too.

(Here’s me, just for reference : )

Taken two weeks ago (showing off new glasses.)

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Rachel said,

    Depending on the curl of your hair bangs may or may not work. I have wavy hair and when I had bangs I had to spend tons of time and product on them to keep them from turning into a ball of frizz on top of my head. But I have fine hair too, so that was part of the problem. I do really like the first picture though. That would look HOT on you.

  2. 2

    Lily said,

    I love that picture of Kristen Dunst. I think a combination of her layers with Bryce’s bangs would look amazing.

    I can’t do bangs very well cause I have a lovely cowlick in front that makes them go all crazy. Maybe something to talk about during your consultation, it would suck to get them cut in, then find out that they are going to be a pain to style every morning.

    Sending lots of hair cut support your way!

  3. 3

    Rilana said,

    We think alike, it seems. I have almost waist-length hair and I am cutting mine off next Monday. My hair is heavy, thick and wavy/curly. I am so ready for a lighter hair style.

    I kind of flip-flop on getting bangs. I haven’t had bangs in over 5 years. I am unsure and undecided. I am actually thinking of getting a chin-length bob, sort of a 20’s hair style…since my hair is curly. It will curl more so once it’s shorter.

    It’s only hair and it grows back, right? EEEEK!

  4. 4

    I think it should be lovely, though you may be forced to straighten your bangs every morning (such would be the case with me. When long, my hair is just a bit wavy. When short, it’s OMGCURLZ, so definitely make sure you have everything you need to take care of them if necessary.

  5. 5

    […] The Dreaded Haircut « Everyday Is Waiting For Halloween […]

  6. 6

    Nadia said,

    I don’t know if anyone can advise on getting versus not getting bangs. It’s a big commitment, the up side is that they are so darn cute, the down side is the upkeep. Yes they look great when a hairdresser cuts them and styles it…But as others before me have commented, check first how much upkeep is required (i.e. styling and trimming , depending how fast your hair grows) and your hairs natural movement, which is harder to tame when it’s shorter.

    I got my bangs cut in last year and I loved them, though I did grow them out when I tired of them. Instead of a blunt fringe my hairdresser tapered it slightly to my cheeks and feathered it a little in the middle to suit the shape of my face. My advice is to to go to Fringe, which sounds like a place you trust and feel comfortable, have a consultation, ask lots of questions, and then give yourself a few days to think about it …and then do what feels best.

    I think the side fringe a la kirsten dunst would look good on you, liv tyler has a similar one that she sported for ages, slightly heaver drape that you may also like.

    Boy this is a long reply for me, but hair cuts are important!….good luck! N


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

